Homemade Pesto

Fairway. “Unlike any other market.”  It’s true.  It can get me to stray from my originally planned purchase the second I walk in.  I ventured inside for creamy balsamic and basil for a caprese salad I planned in my head for lunch.  The huge bushel of basil for only $2.99 far surpassed my need.  Instantly, I was inspired by my mom’s garden and empty freezer since our winter supply had run dry.  It was time for me to make my own pesto.  I gathered all of the extra ingredients needed and made my way home to create my culinary delight.

In order to start making pesto, you need a food processor.  Luckily in the scraps of my unfinished apartment, I actually had one.  It begins with the nuts.  Two kinds; pinenuts and walnuts.  You can have any kind of variation that you would like, my mom sometimes uses pistachios or sunflower seeds for those with allergies.  But I stuck to the basics.

And then of course you need garlic.  Being a girl on a budget, I went for the bottled kind which is normally a sin, but since it was meant to be pureed anyway, I figured I could get away with the short cut.

I blended away.  Created a sandy mixture of garlicy-nutty goodness.  The mixture seemed relatively smooth enough and ready for stage 2.

Next comes the fun part.  Adding the basil.  I had washed and dried all of the leaves in advance and had them hanging out on a paper cloth while the attentions went to the other components of my pesto.  Slowly as the blender was running, I added the olive oil merging the different ingredients together.

Finally, once smooth and the blender turned a nice solid green color, I added the final and best ingredient.  Parmesan cheese.

Pulsing the blender for an addition minute, the cheese mixed into the already complex green concoction.  Then viola!  Pesto!

I put it in a little Tupperware in my fridge for later pairings.  The great thing about pesto is its super easy ability to freeze for later use.  A fun easy project and it only took about 20 minutes from start to finish.  Try it out and enjoy.  Supermarket’s spark the imagination!

XO,
G
Homemade Pesto
Ingredients: 1/4 cup walnuts – 1/4 cup pine nuts – 3 Tbls garlic – 5 cups fresh basil leaves (packed) – 1 tsp kosher salt – 1 tsp black pepper – 1 1/2 cups olive oil – 1 cup Parmesan
Leave a Reply

