Broome Street Bar

My sister, Amanda and I had a fun filled day of adventures in Soho on Saturday.  She is my foodie counterpart.  After hours spent at Necessary Clothing completely revamping our wardrobes for the newly warm weather, we headed over to W. Broadway in search of food.  We finally decided on Broome Street Bar, with wide open doors and a table inside, which still had a nice breeze from the gorgeous day outside.

With both of our stomachs grumbling, I looked up at the specials board to see written in chalk, a hummus plate.  I was sold.  Amanda is extremely picky when it comes to hummus since coming back from Israel two weeks ago.  Nothing has seemed to match up to the delicious flavors from the Mediterranean.  This dish, held up to her standards.

(Hummus, Feta, Carrots, Tomatoes, Cucumber, Pita, Olives, Roasted Red Peppers, Avocado)

The variety of dipping vehicles for eating hummus were endless on this platter.  The most surprising was avocado.  With hummus.  I know.  So random!  But it was actually delicious.  The creamy bite of avocado, hummus on a pita with a little feta was my favorite.   We enjoyed the dish so much, that Amanda even ate the piece of lettuce on the bottom of the plate.  Both of us really, really like food.

For my main dish, I ordered a blue cheese burger.

(Hamburger, Blue Cheese, Tomato, Onion, Pita, and Chips)

Confused?  Me too!  I have never in my lifetime seen a burger in a pita.  Maybe on an English muffin if you’re feeling a bit crazy, but a pita?  But I have to say, it kind of worked.  You didn’t have to worry about anything falling onto the plate from the opposite side of the burger.  And I found it to be a bit less messy.  I don’t know if I am a full-convert since I do really love a nice messy, toasted sesame bun, but this was a fun new experience.  Plus, it was a delicious juicy burger, and you can never go wrong with a bit of blue cheese on top.

Amanda was a bit healthier then me, and is still in her full-fledged Israeli Mediterranean craze.  She went for the Med Salad.

(Lettuce, Feta, Kalmata Olives, Broccoli, Tomato, Onions, Chick Peas, Vinaigrette)

Color in a salad always makes it more interesting and pop.  With all of the fresh markets popping up across the city, this kind of salad is just the perfect treat for a sunny, Spring day.

It was a fun, relaxing meal.  After we heading back out into the streets of Soho for more shopping, laughing, and walking into supermarkets for no reason.

XO,
G
Broome Street Bar – 363 West Broadway – New York, NY
Broome Street Bar
Price: $$
Location: Soho, NY
Type: Mediterranean, Pub
Perfect For: Drinks, Sports on TVQuick BiteCheap Eats
Open: Everyday
Reservations: Not Necessary or Accepted
Favorite Dishes: Blue Cheese Burger, Med Salad
Leave a Reply

