Three Different Lunches, Similar Ingredients

Paying my credit card bill on Monday caused me to realize my splurging on eating meals out made a serious dent on my wallet.  But as many New Yorkers know, especially those living alone, buying fresh produce is pretty much asking for it.  Everything goes bad so quickly and all you’re left with is moldy food and wasted money.

I decided to take on a challenge and utilize all of my food before it ever has the chance to go bad.  But no one wants to eat the same thing every day.  It gets old and forces me to buy lunch anyway, ruining my original plan.  I was inspired by my conversion of basil into pesto, and decided to continue the fun.  Here’s how it went down.

Day #1: Caprese Salad

(Tomatoes, Fresh Mozzarella, Basil, Creamy Truffle Balsamic, Olive Oil, Fresh Squeezed Lemon Juice)

Who doesn’t love a great Caprese Salad.  It definitely did not look this pretty after my subway ride to work, but still tasted great nonetheless.  Buying high end staples like creamy truffle balsamic and good olive oil adds something to even the most simple of meals.

But with that meal, it causes concern about tomatoes and cheese going bad, so that brings me to Day 2.

Day #2: Tomato & Mozzarella Sandwich

(Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, Homemade Pesto, Creamy Truffle Balsamic, French Baguette)

So fancy right? I took full advantage of finishing up the mozzarella and using the baguette left over from wine and cheese night.  And my homemade pesto made a guest appearance on the sandwich.  It was delicious, and I felt super professional taking this out of my tin foil at work.

Finally, I finished up with a great salad of everything left.  After we had an Israeli exchange student live with us for a few months, my sisters fell in love with the idea of an “Israeli Salad.”

Day #3: Israeli Salad

(Tomato, Cucumber, Red Onion, Feta, Lemon Juice, Olive Oil)

I cannot wait to dive into this tomorrow.  I finished up my tomatoes (they were from Costco, so that’s why tomatoes have more or less been the center of each meal), cucumbers I used for dipping in my gigantic hummus (again from Costco), and of course you need red onion.  I’m planning on making a Peter Luger’s style steak dinner tomorrow with Tomato and Onion with Luger sauce and the steak defrosting in my fridge.  So a quick stop at Trader Joe’s for 79 cents allowed me to have the perfect component to my dish.  I always have feta on hand since it lasts for months and used up the other half of my lemon for some fresh acidity.  Letting it sit over night allows for all the flavors to infuse and for me to snooze a bit longer in the morning.

Happy eating!

XO,GMy Apartment – Upper West Side – New York, NY

Leave a Reply

