Puddin’

For the past few years, desserts have been all the trendy rage.  From cupcakes to froyo bars, they are on every street corner and appearing for any celebration at work.  The newest trend might be my favorite.

Puddin.

My mom heard about Puddin on the radio one afternoon (super vintage) and had been dying to go.  It’s hidden on St. Marks, between 1st and A, a place one would not normally stumble upon.  Trust me when I say, until you try puddin, you are missing out.

This little shop has no seats and just a simple counter top and exposed kitchen.  Each batch of pudding is made fresh every day.  You can actually see them mixing the little bowls of heaven in the back.  Not only is it just pudding, but there are mix-ins to add and enhance the flavors.  They allow for tastes, and according to the woman behind the counter, even if people taste and leave, “they will be thinking about it for days and be sure to come back.”  I’m already dreaming of when I can be back.

My mom ordered for herself and my dad, who was sitting outside in our double-parked car, the Caramel Macchiato. The owner, Clio, said that she was addicted to the Starbucks version and wanted to have it whenever she wanted.  This replication looked delicious, combining chocolate and coffee pudding with brownie bites and salted caramel.  I delivered it to my Dad in the car, and it was gone by the time we were back.

I went simple, settling on Butterscotch with Salted Caramel on top.  And woah.  Was this addicting.

Each bite was a little piece of heaven.  The creamy pudding with the salty and sweet caramel.  My taste buds could not even process what it was experiencing.  I have never indulged in something so simple, but so wonderful.

(Noa, Amanda, and Me enjoying our Puddin’)

They recently introduced the mini size ($3) and it is the perfect amount.  It leaves you feeling full and satisfied without the overly stuffed-can’t move feeling. I swirled mine up, making sure each bite had both butterscotch and caramel, sat back in the car and drove back uptown to my apartment, with the best satisfied smile on my face.

XO,

G
Puddin’ – 102 St. Marks Place – New York, NY
Puddin’
Price: $
Location: East Village, NY
Type: Dessert
Perfect For: Sweet ToothImpressing Foodies
Open: Everyday
Reservations: Not Accepted
Favorite Dishes: Caramel Macchiato
Leave a Reply

