Gray’s Papaya

As the sun came up, after the SNL finale  and subsequent fun activities, my stomach was grumbling.  The little sandwich I had eaten around 9pm was not doing the trick anymore.  I made my way to the only place that has been open 24/7 for decades, filling the late night needs of my dad (not my mom, as she so kindly corrected me) before I was even an idea.

I’m talking about Gray’s Papaya.

This place has been a part of my life since I can remember, but now living around the corner I have gained a new appreciation for the best, simple hot dog New York has to offer.  Ingrained in my head is the New Yorker way of eating; mustard and ‘kraut, absolutely NO ketchup.  Each and every time, it is perfect and satisfying all at once.

Even though the price has gone up over the years, it’s still the best bang for your buck around.  The perfectly cooked dog and the steamed, yet slightly crunchy bun melts in your mouth.  Plus the acidic sauerkraut makes this the perfect late night snack around.

Make sure not to be fooled by any of the other knock off “papaya” something hot dog places, this is the authentic original, the real deal.  Because the real Gray’s Papaya are the best hot dogs in the city.

XO,

G

Gray’s Papaya – 2090 Broadway (and 72nd Street) – New York, NY

Gray’s Papaya
Price: $
Location: Upper West Side, NY
Type: American (Traditional)
Perfect For: Quick BiteCheap Eats
Open: Everyday
Reservations: Not Accepted
Favorite Dishes: Hot Dog with Kraut, Papaya Juice

Leave a Reply

