Juliette

The last day of September was a perfect fall day. The sun shining, light sweaters and seemingly not a cloud in the sky. I woke up unusually early, taking the L train to meet my friends for brunch in Williamsburg. We put our names down at Juliette, an adorable French restaurant with the slogan “A Taste of Paris in Brooklyn.”

We waited outside basking in the sun for our names to be called. Unfortunately, there wasn’t any outdoor seating available so we opted to sit in their gorgeous courtyard. It reminded me of a secret garden, with ivy and plants hanging from the ceilings.

20120930-205005.jpg

The entire restaurant is adorable with fun French knick-knacks all over. Even the restroom was labeled ‘lavoratories,’ along with little French terms decorating the walls. I really felt transported to a bistro in Paris.
We decided to start off Sunday Funday off right with Bloodys. They had a unique variation on a traditional drink with the Bloody Maria, made with jalapeño infused tequila. I ordered it immediately. We toasted to a great day while deciding what to order.

20120930-205544.jpg
Ultimately, I decided to be a little gusty and go a non-traditional route in my food selection. While my friends ordered Eggs Florentine and Eggs Benedict (but with Sriracha hollandaise), I decided on the Duck Confit. I was lured to this dish because of the incorporation of green apples. I couldn’t wait.

20120930-205845.jpg

Crispy Duck Confit, Poached Eggs, Wilted Baby Frisee, Toasted Walnuts, Green Apples, Brioche Croutons

The duck fell off the bone with ease.  No knife was even necessary to shred the delicate pieces of duck.  I put the light, poached egg on top of the duck pieces and cut into it, allowing for the yolk to ooze over the already rich pieces of meat.  The wilted frisee served as an essential counter balance to the decadent protein.  The pieces of walnut gave an essential nuttiness and crunch.  And the apple tied everything together with a necessary acidity.  The croutons seemed slightly unnecessary and soggy, being pushed to the side. But the dish reminded me of my favorite chicken salad, deconstructed and fancified.

I loved this dish, a unique, French version of a traditional brunch.  I highly recommend this spot to anyone trying to brunch in Williamsburg.  It’s adorable, totally chic and delicious.  It’s the perfect stop for anyone on their way to Brooklyn Flea, like we were. I have a new found love for Williamsburg and I cannot wait to come back and explore all the restaurants that this area has to offer.

XO,

G

Juliette – 135 North 5th Street – Brooklyn, NY

Juliette
Price: $$
Location: Williamsburg, Brooklyn
Type: French
Perfect For: Big Groups, Chronic Brunch, Outdoor Seating
Open: Everyday
Reservations: Not Accepted
Favorite Dishes: Duck Confit with Poached Eggs, Sriracha Eggs Benedict

Leave a Reply

