Nanoosh

Whenever I’m craving a simple Mediterranean dish at a place where I can read a book, I know exactly where to go.  Practically around the corner, Nanoosh offers delicious, fresh meals with a friendly wait staff and the best mint iced tea around.  I often find myself here around 11:30am, right before work, to catch up on emails, read my book and enjoy some delicious food.

This Monday morning, I was up early and ready to start my day.  With limited time before work, Nanoosh was the right spot for my needs.  They have wooden tables for two lining the walls, giving the feel of your own little section of the restaurant.  It’s easy to disappear into your own meal and forget that anyone else is there.

c/o New York Magazine

The dishes are prepared quickly, with a lot of attention to detail.  Salads, wraps and hummus plates seem to dominate the menu.  I’ve tried most dishes from all over their menu, but today, their Greek Salad was calling my name.  In addition, I ordered my favorite mint tea to sit along side my salad.

Sweetened Mint-Lemon Tea

Organic Romaine, Tomato, Cucumber, Onions, Kalamata Olives, Feta, Lemon Vinaigrette

Immediately, the brightness of the tomatoes literally stood out from my salad.  The colors worked together, showing off the freshness of ingredients in the salad.  I drizzled the vinaigrette over the top of the salad, tossing it together, trying to get every bite of the salad to combine together.  I especially loved adding the slightly salty feta cheese with the sweet, juicy tomatoes.  When you are craving a Greek Salad, this is the one to have.  There really isn’t anything unique to the salad, but the freshness and environment keep me coming back for more.

In the past, I’ve enjoyed the mushroom wrap, which comes with your own choice of side (I picked Tabouleh) and I’ve also loved the mushroom and onion bowl, with lots of hummus and tahini.  They also have the option for whole wheat pita which is always a plus.

Sauteed Mushrooms, Onions, Tahini, Greens, Hummus; Side of Tabouleh

Hummus, Sauteed Mushrooms, Onions, Greens, Tahini, Side of Tabouleh

The next time you are on the Upper West Side in need of a light, Mediterranean meal in an adorable relaxing place, Nanoosh is for you.  And be sure to order the mint tea!

XO,

G

Nanoosh – 2012 Broadway – New York, NY

Nanoosh
Price: $$
Location: Upper West Side, NY
Type: Mediterranean 
Perfect For: Dining Solo, Quick Bite, Take Out
Open: Everyday
Reservations: Not Necessary
Favorite Dishes: Greek Salad, Hummus Wrap, Mint Tea

Leave a Reply

