The Smith

There is simply one easy way to win over my heart.  And that my friends, is through, seltzer.  Sparkling water, with that refreshing, unintentional “ahh” that comes out after every sip.  I have a serious addiction and I am known for having a 1 liter bottle of Vintage Seltzer tucked underneath my arm at all times.

That brings me to The Smith, an East Village staple serving up some chronic meals for unbelievably reasonable prices.  Free seltzer is placed on the table, adjacent to the tap water, making you realize that this is a place you want to venture back to, especially for a seltzer lover like myself.  It’s one of the first positive things I have to say about this place when it comes up, “free seltzer.”  Okay, enough about the seltzer.

The food and atmosphere of The Smith is a wonderful mixture between pub and classy.  At 1pm on a weekday afternoon, tons of trendy girls (probably NYU students, since the dorms are right down the block), handsome, well dressed business men, and people seeking out a great lunch time meal inhabit this large, open space.

(c/o New York Magazine)

(c/o The Smith Website)

My friend and I sat near the window at a small round table.  We glanced over the menu, deciding what to order.  He started off the meal with a Bloody Mary, and I went a little lighter and fresher with the Cucumber Loco.

Silver Tequila, Cointreau, Cucumber, Lime, Salted Rim

This was the freshest version of a “margarita,” I have even enjoyed.  The addition of cucumber just gave it a light sweetness where the alcohol seemed nearly irrelevant.  It was all about the lime, saltiness and light cucumber.  A wonderful treat for a bright, warm fall day.

After glancing over the menu, I decided to order a sandwich I had loved on my last trip to The Smith, a while back.  It had stuck with me ever since and I couldn’t want to indulge again.  My friend ordered their famous burger.

Avocado, Goat Cheese, Cucumber, Sprouts, Tomato, Red Onion, Multigrain Bread, Fries

Vegetarian or not, this sandwich is chronic.  All of the elements are layered carefully, to create the perfect bite each time.  The avocado acts as the “meat” of the sandwich, with its subtle richness and sweet flavor.  The creamy goat cheese holds everything together with the wonderful crunch of the sprouts, falling out all over the plate.  The sweet and juicy tomato with the thinly sliced cucumber add the delicious fresh elements of the sandwich.  When it comes to a vegetarian sandwich, and I’m not talking veggie burgers, this tops the list.

The crunchy french fries on the side are the perfect counter part to the fresh sandwich, bursting with flavor.  I love The Smith’s spicy dijon mustard to dip the fries in.  The bite of heat, almost as if horseradish was infused into the mustard, clears your sinuses.  Even my friend who disliked mustard seemed to enjoy my fries’ condiment of choice.

The Smith is an awesome restaurant, with everything you could want out of a lunch or dinner.  It serves upscale pub-type food in a cool environment.  They’re opening a location on 65th and Broadway and I cannot wait to frequent there.  If you find yourself in the East Village, craving a great lunch that will please everyone you’re with, going to The Smith is a no brainer.

XO,

G

The Smith – 55 Third Avenue – New York, NY

The Smith
Price: $$
Location: East Village, NY
Type: New American
Perfect For: Chronic Brunch, Girls’ Night Out, Big Groups, Date Night
Open: Everyday
Reservations:  Recommended (thesmith.com)
Favorite Dishes: Avocado-Goat Cheese Sandwich, Eggs Benedict, Classic Hamburger

Leave a Reply

