Cafe Luxembourg

This adorable, Upper West Side, high end cafe reminds me of a small Parisian bistro, and I think that’s then point.  The large, red awning stands out, without seeming gaudy.  Tucked away on 70th between Amsterdam and Riverside Drive, you would know to look here unless you were a local or savvy with Yelp.  However, the crowds know to come and at 12:30 on a Saturday afternoon, the place is bustling.

cafe luxembourg

Like the cafes of Paris, it’s the perfect spot for solo dining or big groups.  The atmosphere is easily non-judging as I sit in a row of four tables with all the solo individual reading books, typing away on their phones, and enjoying their own company.

c/o Cafe Luxembourg

c/o Cafe Luxembourg

While the prices may be a bit steep here, the food is incredible and quickly makes you forget, that is until the bill comes.

I ordered an omelette, with four of the allowed fix-ins, which already to me steers away from the pettiness of some brunch places, charging a base price and adding on $2 per item.

I opted to add chèvre (goat cheese), spinach and sautéed onions and mushrooms.  In addition, I was able to choose the cooking method to the eggs, which I opted for them to be soft cooked, my favorite.

Omelette with Chevre, Spinach, Sauteed Onions and Mushrooms, Hash Browns

Omelette with Chevre, Spinach, Sauteed Onions and Mushrooms, Hash Browns

The omelette arrived, glowing the perfect shade of yellow that can only be achieved by someone who knows what they are doing.  The best judge of a chef is in their eggs, and in this case, Luxembourg passed with flying colors.  The eggs were generously stuffed, with prices of spinach peaking out, and sweet caramelized onions making their way into each bite.  Then the tart, and creamy goat cheese brought all the ingredients together. Finally little pieces of rich mushrooms tasted sweet and rich, as I enjoyed every single bite.

On the side, heavenly pieces of potatoes accompanied the dish, seasoned well.  I find truly great potatoes do not require the addition of salt, and it was true with these.  I gobbled up the pieces, in between bites of the creamy omelette, rounding out the ultimate brunch.

While the food was delicious, the prices were definitely on the steep side, leaving me to believe everything was priced about $4-5 too high.  While that might seem like a small amount, it could easily add up over time.  I didn’t even bother to order alcohol, with glasses of wine costing $12 and up.  It’s definitely a delicious meal, located right down the block, so I’m sure I will be back.  But for chronic brunch, I think there are a few other places that could give Cafe Luxembourg a run for it’s creative money.  However, when the craving comes for well cooked eggs, I know Cafe Luxembourg will not disappoint.

XO,

G

Cafe Luxembourg – 200 West 70th Street – New York, NY

Cafe Luxembourg
Price: $$$
Location: Upper West Side, NY
Type: French, Bistro
Perfect For: Chronic Brunch, Dining Solo, Special Occasion, Big Groups
Open: Everyday
Reservations: Available via UrbanSpoon
Favorite Dishes: OmeletteFrench Onion Soup

Official Website

Leave a Reply

