Dean’s Pizzeria & Restaurant

I met my family for an early Sunday dinner, after they helped move my middle sister, Leigh into my apartment for good.  My mom had given me an address, and I walked under a bright yellow awning into what initially seemed like a small pizzeria. After speaking to the hostess, I was led towards the back to a giant room, with plenty of round circular tables for lots of family style eating.  It felt like the New York City version of the local pizza joint where you went after soccer games.  The big round tables, crowding around the equally oversized pizza pie.

My mom had found this place from an old tennis partner, who described it as the perfect before or after the movies spot.  Everything portioned to individual or family style.  Since we love to share, it was the perfect spot.

We began the meal with the Siciliana salad.

(Romaine and Red Leaf Lettuce, Grated Fresh Mozzarella, Black Olives, Capers, Tomatoes, Anchovies, Roasted Red Peppers, Carrots, Artichoke Hearts, Italian Vinaigrette)

This salad was fabulous.  It almost seemed like an Italian anti-pasta mixed with lettuce and served super size.  I personally enjoy anchovies so the salty taste mixed with all the fresh veggies were absolutely delicious.  It was a great salad.

After debates amongst the table, we decided on mushroom and garlic for the Sicilian pizza.

With 8 pieces cut into the perfect portion, this pie was delicious.  The essential crispy crust, wonderful sauce, and garlic on top hit the spot.  It was a great pizza.

Unfortunately, being located on 85th, they only deliver in a 10-block radius, keeping me outside of the zone.  It probably is a good thing, because I might order that salad every single day of the week.

This place would be really fun with friends to enjoy over lots of pizza and keeping the wine flowing.  It was a great meal with family, despite the waiter awkwardly trying to join in with our conversations.  I would definitely come back.

XO,

G

Dean’s Pizzeria & Restaurant – 215 W 85th Street – New York, NY

Dean’s Pizzeria & Restaurant
Price: $$
Location: Upper West Side, NY
Type: Italian
Perfect For: Big Groups, Kid Friendly, Take Out
Open: Everyday
Reservations: Recommended via OpenTable
Favorite Dishes: Sicilian Pizza
Official Website 

Leave a comment